Alumni Awards

Each year the Brescia University Alumni Association presents two awards to alumni who’ve made a difference: The Father Charles Saffer Alumni Hall of Fame Award and the Outstanding Alumnus Award. The Father Charles Saffer Alumni Hall of Fame Award is presented to an alum who through a lifetime of personal achievement has personified the ideals of Brescia University, and the Outstanding Alumnus Award is presented to an alum who has showcased outstanding service to the Alumni Association and/or Brescia University.

Use the form below to submit your nomination of a deserving Bearcat! Awards are traditionally presented at Chariot Races during Alumni Homecoming and Family Weekend. Nominations must be received by July 28th.


The Father Charles Saffer Alumni Hall of Fame Award The Outstanding Alumnus Award
1986Phil Hagan '67
1987Elizabeth O’Bryan Castlen ’63Joseph ’70 and Gloria Janiak ’65 Cecil
1988Martine O’Bryan Ward ’53Robert ’67 and Janice White ’64 Russell
1989Marita Mattingly Englert ’57 Joseph R. Young ’65
1990Earl Fischer ’62Dr. Samuel ’69 and Kathy Kerr ’70 DunLany
1991Wesley Acton ‘60Mike Lewis '82
1992Marge Weaver Slack ’57 Bob Slack '62
1993Ernie Taliaferro ’70 Marian Ischer Bennett ’83
1994Delbert Murphy ’57 Earl Fischer ’62
1995Gloria Janiak Cecil ’65 Everett Thompson ’88
1996Bob ’69 and Ann Jenkins ’66 CasparMartin Smith ’91
1997Frank Riney ’68Eddy McFarland ’83
1998Margaret Hardesty ’65 Carl P. Lewis ’91
1999Mary Rose Shoemaker ’54 Ann Portman Pierce ’68
2000Larry E. O’Bryan ’70 Tonia Tucker ’86 and Troy Johnson ’95
2001Shirley Hawkins Raymond ’69 Clarence Ebelhar ’64
2002Marian Ischer Bennett ’83 Mike ’72 and Karen Wilderman Mischel ’73
2003Garry and Ann Portman Pierce ’68Ron ’72 and Denise Cecil Payne ’70
2004Suzanne King Hagan ’67 Sr. Michele Morek ’66
2005Sam ’69 and Kathy ’70 DunLanySharon Kasinger ’99
2006Sr. Joseph Angela Boone ’62 Bert Barker ’81
2007Sr. Vivian Marie Bowles ’69 J. R. Greulich ’98
2008Sr. Vivian Marie Bowles ’69 George A. Frey ’63 and Margaret Clarke Knott ’64
2009Mary Hilda McFarland ’62Mary Alice Wethington ’82
2011Bob Mitchell ’67Cliff Brandon ’64
2012Sr. Rose Jean Powers ’66Beverly Howard ’71
2013Greg Alvey ‘70Lisa Prendergast ‘77
2014Sr. Cheryl Clemons ‘74Sarah Mills ‘05
2015Sr. Sharon Sullivan ‘75Jim Weafer ‘02
2016Beverly ‘04 and Jerry ‘66 McCandlessAlex Mattingly ‘02
2017Lisa Payne Jones ‘93Chris Ford ‘97
2018Sally Halbig ‘90Nathan Held ‘03
2019Scott Wilson ‘93Tracy Naylor ‘01